Department Overview

The Department of Logic at Eötvös University began its existence in the 1970s as a group of philosophy faculty members working in the field of symbolic logic and  methodology of science. The founder and central figure of the group was one of the leading Hungarian logicians, Professor Imre Ruzsa. As a separate unit, the Department was established in 1982. It belongs to the Institute of Philosophy of the Faculty of Humanities.

The Department of Logic offers courses for both undergraduate and graduate teaching programs of the Institute of Philosophy, with a particular focus on the Logic and Philosophy of Science MA and PhD programs.
The Department aims to bring together faculty and students interested in a wide range of topics including:
  • Logic
  • Philosophy of Mathematics
  • History of Logic and Mathematics
  • Philosophy of Physics
  • General Philosophy of Science
  • Analytical Metaphysics
  • Epistemology
  • Philosophy of Language
  • Formal Semantics
The Department of Logic enjoys strong cooperative relations with the other philosophy departments of the university and with several science departments, including mathematics, physics, and theoretical linguistics. It also has strong connections with the Set  Theory, Logic and Topology Group of Rényi Institute of Mathematics.

The Department organizes and hosts the weekly Logic and Philosophy of Science Seminar (LPS).

Contact information


Department of Logic
Institute of Philosophy
Faculty of Humanities
Eötvös University
Múzeum krt. 4/i   Budapest,  H-1088 Hungary

Phone: +36 1 485 5237

Eötvös University
Faculty of Humanities
Institute of Philosophy

Philosophy Building

Central phone number  of the university:
  +36 1 411 6500

Campus map
Budapest Wiki

Faculty of Humanities 2008
Information Pamphlet
(in Hungarian)

The courses offered by the Department are listed in the Course List of the Institute of Philosophy

The courses taught before 2014 are archived here.